Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Jerry Hill's Bill Idea Contest

Press Release: Jerry Hill Announces 3rd Annual Constituent Bill Idea Contest
Contact: Nate Solov 916-768-1378
Assemblymember Jerry Hill - Representing the 19th District 

Jerry Hill Announces 3rd Annual Bill Idea Contest
Invites Constituents to Author Legislative Measures – January 1 Deadline

Sacramento, CA – Assemblymember Jerry Hill, D - San Mateo, announced his third annual “Oughta Be A Law…Or Not” contest for San Mateo County.  The contest is open to all constituents of the 19th Assembly District and allows residents to submit their ideas for improving the quality of life in San Mateo County or the state of California. Ideas can vary from local community improvements to statewide reforms. Applicants can submit their ideas for the creation of a new law or the repeal or revision of laws already on the books. 
“This is a great opportunity for constituents to participate in the legislative process,” Hill said.  “Winners from the last two years traveled to Sacramento to testify in committee and their proposals passed the legislature with bipartisan support.”
Assemblymember Hill will select a winner and then introduce the idea as legislation.  The individual who submits the winning idea will have the opportunity to testify in Sacramento at a hearing on the legislation.
Applications can be obtained by calling Assemblymember Hill’s San Mateo office at 650-349-1900 or from his website:
Completed applications may be e-mailed to, faxed to the San Mateo district office at 650-341-4676 or mailed to the district office located at 1528 South El Camino Real, Suite 302, San Mateo, CA 94402.  Submissions must be received by January 1, 2011.  The deadline to introduce bills for the 2011 legislative session is February 18. 
The 19th Assembly District includes the cities of Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Daly City, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Millbrae, Pacifica, San Bruno, San Mateo, and South San Francisco and parts of unincorporated San Mateo County.

Past winners include:

2009 – Assembly Bill 1379
Eda Cook of Half Moon Bay and Scott Buschman of San Bruno were awarded co-winners of the 2009 contest for their proposals addressing the problem of spilled debris from trucks on highways and roads.  The bill increased the base fine for spilling debris from commercial trucks.  In recent years there were over 7,000 collisions caused by spilled loads in California resulting in 10 fatalities.  The measure passed the legislature but was vetoed by the Governor.

2010 – Assembly Bill 2654
The brainchild of Stan Fetterman of Millbrae, Assembly Bill 2654 would require firms that send out solicitation letters that appear to be on behalf of government agencies to include a disclaimer atop the first page stating: “This product or service has not been approved or endorsed by any government agency.”  Fetterman proposed the law after noticing that his business had received a pile of official-sounding letters that, in one instance, demanded companies make a $225 payment to fulfill a bogus state requirement.  Under the bill, these letters would be required to include the disclaimer and violations would be a misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in jail and a $2,500 fine.  The measure passed the legislature but was vetoed by the Governor.

Nate Solov
Office of Assemblymember Jerry Hill
916-319-2019 (P)
916-319-2119 (F)

Posted by Steve Sinai

No comments: