Thursday, January 20, 2011

Democrat 19th Assembly District elected candidate results

On Sunday, January 9, 2011, more than 200 19th Assembly District voters, including many from Pacifica, braved the bitter cold temperatures, and filed through the doors of the City of San Mateo's Council Chambers for the sole purpose of selecting which 19th Assembly District candidates would be the next twelve Democratic delegates to represent the District at the Democratic State Party Conventions for the upcoming two years. It was also an opportunity to vote for the next representative from the 19th Assembly District to the Democratic State Party's Executive Board.

These delegates will be critical in the nomination process for the Democratic Party endorsement prior to the 2012 primary election.

A total of nine female candidates and ten male candidates threw their political hats into the ring for a chance to go to the State Democratic Party Conventions, as well as compete for a chance to be on the State Party's Executive Board. Seven were independent candidates (Lauren Brollier, Patricia Linehan, Michelle D Magarrell-Gomez, Jacob Angel, Xavier Martin Aubuchon-Medoza, Jeffrey Aaaron Christiansen and Marc C. Teglia). The other twelve candidates were part of a slate endorsed by 19th District Assemblyman, Jerry Hill. At the end of the afternoon, all of Hill's candidates garnered the most votes in the Caucus election.

The top vote getter in the 19th Assembly District was San Mateo County Supervisor, Carole Groom.

The other delegates elected at the Caucus on Sunday afternoon were: Christine M Krolik, Hillsborough City Councilmember, Richard Hedges, a member of the San Mateo County Central Labor Council, Rhonda Marie Ceccato, San Mateo County Board of Education, David Lim, San Mateo City Councilman, Rod Hsaio, San Mateo County Board of Education, Zoe Kirsteen-Tucker, member of the Board of Directors of SAMTRANS, Mark Nogales, Field Representative of Congresswoman Jackie Speier, John F Lynch, community activist, Mike Lagomarsino, Teamsters Local 856 Business Agent, Claire Mack, former San Mateo City Mayor and Brittany K. Feitelberg, Burlingame resident and small business owner, who was also the elected delegate to the Executive Board of the Democratic State Party.

Barbara Arietta
Assemblyman Hill's 19th Assembly District Delegate
California State Democratic Party

No comments: